What is the Difference Between GPSC and UPSC?

Friends, we are all aware that the UPSC Examination is regarded as India’s most challenging examination.

After clearing this examination, you will be eligible to apply for the most prestigious positions in the Indian government, such as IAS, IPS, and IFS.

The most significant aspect of these roles is that they are permanent, and that comes with a lot of respect and a good income.

Friends, we and you are well aware that every year more than 10 lakh applicants sit for UPSC tests, with just about 1000 persons being picked.

The same may be said for the GPSC examination. The Gujarat Public Service Commission examination is known as GPSC.

So, in this article, we are going to cover some important information related to GPSC vs UPSC in detail. Well, if you are someone who is looking for the same then kindly read this article till the end.

Difference Between GPSC and UPSC

The Union Public Service Commission is abbreviated as UPSC, whereas the Gujarat Public Service Commission is abbreviated as GPSC.

The UPSC is a government-run examination. Students who pass the exam will work directly for the government.

The UPSC is in charge of All India Services, as well as Group A and Group B of Central Services, appointments, and examinations.

The Gujarat State Government administers the GPSC. The GPSC is in charge of screening applications for Civil Service employment solely in the state. 

The exams are conducted by UPSC for selection into Civil Services.

  • Civil Services Examination (CSE)
  • Engineering Services Examination (ESE)
  • Indian Forestry Services Examination (IFOS)
  • Central Armed Police Forces examination (CAPF)
  • Indian Economic Service and Indian Statistical Service (IES/ISS)
  • Combined Geo-Scientist and Geologist Examination
  • Combined Medical Services (CMS)
  • Special Class Railway Apprentices Exam (SCRA)
  • Limited Departmental Competitive Examination for selection of Assistant Commandant.

The exams are conducted by GPSC for selection into services.

  • Gujarat Administrative service, class-I and Gujarat Civil Service Class-I and Class-II
  • Class-I and Class-II posts of Gujarat Service of Engineering
  • Reporter (Gujarati, Hindi, English) Class-II, Gujarat Legislative Secretariat.

UPSC civil services exam consists of 3 Stages.

  1. Preliminary Exam (Objective)
  2. Main Exam (Written)
  3. Interview (Personality test)

GPSC Civil Services Exam Consist of 3 Stages.

  • Preliminary Exam (Objective)
  • Main Exam (Written)
  • Interview (Personality test)

Following completion of all phases, the candidate is assigned to a certain service, such as Dy. Collector, Dy. Superintendent of Police, Mamlatdar, Taluka development officer, Section Officer, and so on, based on his or her rank.

All candidates who pass the Gujarat Administrative Service, Class 1 and Gujarat Civil Service, Class 1 & 2 examinations are appointed by the Gujarat government as officials.

A candidate must be at least 20 years old on the final date of the online application and not more than 35 years old on the last date of the online application to be eligible to take the test.

According to the government announcement, the upper age limit would be reduced. He/she must be in his/her last semester/year of study, however, the applicant must meet and submit the requisite qualifications as stated before the deadline for submitting applications for the mains examination.

Final Conclusion on Difference Between GPSC and UPSC

We really hope that you have liked this article related to the Difference Between GPSC and UPSC very much.

If you have any queries regarding this article then you can send us directly via commenting in the comments section given below.

If you have liked this article, then kindly share it with your friends and family.

Thank you so much for reading this article till the end.

1 thought on “What is the Difference Between GPSC and UPSC?”

  1. Pingback: Why Do Gujarati Students Don't Prepare for IAS Examination? - Indian Apex

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.